Social Media. It seems so overrated. It actually seems like a complete waste of time. I guess I use it as a boredom buster. Late at night when I cant sleep and I realize I’ve gotten so lost in the world of YouTube that I’ve watched 30 minutes of trees in a time lapse, I turn to Facebook. For more mindless entertainment. When the rest of my esteemed classmates heard the tragic news that we had to go 24 hours without social media all hell broke lose. Its was like the apocalypse was among us and nobody had their zombie survival kit on hand. As for me, it didn’t really bother me. The world wasn’t crumbling. If Kim Kardashian got a boob job and I never lived to find out about it didn’t trouble me. I guess all and all I knew if it was a well-planned exercise I would probably survive without my cellular lifeline.

my weekend was full of shenanigans with my boyfriend
my weekend was full of shenanigans with my boyfriend

So I did plan, I picked the weekend. It may seem like a terrible idea to some. But I am far more than just a pretty face. I knew picking a weekend, when my boyfriend was right next to me and I could harass him, may mean my friends miss out on the riveting updates of me watching a million episodes of Castle or wandering around in fat pants, but really I wouldn’t struggle. I guess it says a lot about me that 24 hours without outside world contact doesn’t really bother me. I think it comes with being a bogan. Bogans seldom care about the outside world. We’re selfish and creatures of habit for the most part. Anyway. So I did it. I went 24 hours with my phone being as almost handy as a dead carrier pigeon.

And nothing happened.

Nothing. I missed a grand total of not a single thing I actually cared about. Yes I missed playing X-Box live while my boyfriend lay on the couch all day shooting zombies and gloating about his kill streaks. And yes my mum was incredibly frantic and I had received a grand total of four txt messages asking if I was alive. But really, nothing happened. And although I instantly caved when my 24 hours was finally over and checked my phone like a fat kid diving for the last piece of cake, I was left living with the realization that I had survived. That I hadn’t struggled. And that Social Media is for chumps.

Leave a comment